Action Precedes Motivation

 

I found the following quote online and it “spoke” to me. Does it speak to you, as well?

According to Robert McKain, “The common conception is that motivation leads to action, but the reverse is true — action precedes motivation”.

He further says that “You have to’prime the pump’ and get the juice flowing, which motivates you to work on your goals”.

He then adds that “Getting momentum going is the most difficult part of the job, and often taking the first step is enough to prompt you to make the best of your day”.

For me, a morning ritual is what leads me to be motivated. My goal is to be up, dressed, and – with coffee in hand- be ready by 8 AM to attack the business goals for the day. BY starting early, I feel prepared to track any ads I have running, work on any ads in progress, study for more knowledge of internet marketing, and set goals for the next day.

To not get sidetracked, I skip checking e-mails and facebook until I have my first break. I’ve found my concentration is better and I get more done by not opening up these programs at the start of my day.

I’m curious: What action(s) get you motivated to start your day?

Leave a Reply

